top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDimpleWrites

Catcalling is not a Compliment!!!

Everyday, somewhere a lady is being catcalled. People don’t seem to understand the adverse effects of these harassment on the ladies, and when the lady speaks of it in public, she is being judged as overreacting or being irrational. There is this comment guys make when you mention being harassed to them, it goes thus: Stop exaggerating now “Don’t women like being admired and complimented?” some even ask “Is it a crime to appreciate or tell a lady how good she looks”. Yes! We don't mind a little male attention, but don’t force it down our throats. Why is Catcalling being mixed up with admiration with the lustful looks and actions attached to it. Anyone considering catcalling as a tiny bit of flattering should reconsider their position. Catcalling isn’t flirtation nor is it giving a compliment and should never be considered an option to approach a lady. Flirting is about playfulness without serious intentions, Catcalling is intended to humiliate; Flirting assumes a sense of equality between two genders playfully, Catcalling approaches are to show dominance over the other gender. Flirting is plainly respectful, Catcalling on the other is just freaking rude and demeaning. I don’t think other explanations of these terms are different. Why should you Catcall anyone in the very first place? These catcalling of a thing sometimes, demoralizes the very fragile ones, those who do not have the capacity of holding emotions, it goes as far as reducing their confidence as a woman, shall I include that, it further puts fear in their hearts especially when they are walking alone, the fear of not knowing what could happen next. There is always a surge to retaliate but, then you remember he is stronger and you are helpless. No woman should ever be made to feel this way, everyone deserves a right to self opinion, self confidence. Women should be seen as humans and not at an item to toy with at any time deem fit. A woman should be respected and not demeaned, a woman should be appreciated not humiliated. The super cultured ones will say, it is because of what she was wearing, that’s why she was harassed like, who still thinks like that well at least not me. I am not against nor in support of any one dressing as they desire to but that shouldn’t be a conditioned reason for anyone to harass them. Eko Ile ogbon (Lagos the land of the wise) the streets and garage will make you feel like you need to be Mad at all times just to get past all those agberos and touts. I pen this down, because too much talk no dey full basket…. #Ireoooooo

27 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

You need to start Now!

Hello Dimple lovers, Thank you so much for the messages and checkup. It meant a lot to me. As much as I've promised myself that I would at least post once a week, I guess life does happen, and a lot h

How to start off the year 2021

The new year is something I've always anticipated so much, but this year I couldn't get a grasp of my reason for no anticipation of it. I had so many worries on my mind, things I wanted to do, somethi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page